Creative Alchemy of Making Unfettered Art. Part 2 – Blogging, Writing

I’ve never participated in the annual global grassroots of NaNoWriMo promoted by wordpress.com and other online writing communities.  I don’t consider myself a serious writer.  Just a personal blogger who cringes slightly at the thought of pumping out over 50,000 words of sanity in 1 month. I’d rather turn my bike pedals 50,000 revolutions. My hearty kudos for writers, especially those who write fiction.

Mural on artistic expression, dreams and motivation. Arts Common Building, Calgary AB 2016. Notice different carrots of motivation can divert an artist. Photo by J.Chong
Mural on artistic expression, dreams and motivation. Arts Common Building, Calgary AB 2016. Notice different carrots of motivation can divert an artist. Photo by J.Chong

However it doesn’t mean I don’t care how or what I choose to blog.

The blog topics I’ve penned over the years, are ideas sparked usually by one or more of these 3 different triggers:

  • something I’ve seen, read or heard
  • a personal experience, usually a pearl string of incidents that shapes a niche theme
  • photos taken by myself or Jack, that trigger memories, metaphors, new perspectives and are combined with above  complementary idea sparklers
Writing is culmination of experiences, encounters with others and your soul. Stephen Ave. downtown Calgary 2015. Photo by J.Chong
Writing is culmination of experiences, encounters with others and your soul. Stephen Ave. downtown Calgary 2015. Photo by J.Chong

Incubation, Growing a Baby
Some of my blog posts have been ideas, incubating in the art womb, my right side brain, for many months or just few days. Usually the idea is curled up like a baby fern tightly in my brain corner for a long time. The idea is something

Ideas can unfurl like spring baby ferns. Stanley Park, Vancouver BC 2014. Photo by J.Chong
Ideas can unfurl like spring baby ferns. Stanley Park, Vancouver BC 2014. Photo by J.Chong

I’ve been wanting very much to share. It’s just that I haven’t figured out how I’m going to unleash the thought, how to articulate and unfurl the idea.  But it is a thought I’ve felt very strongly and I know I need to express, shape that blog post somehow.

My poor handwriting in personal journals in my 20's. Discarded since I couldn't even read it myself. Since then, I've given up on handwriting thoughts.
My poor handwriting in personal journals in my 20’s. Discarded since I couldn’t even read it myself. Since then, I’ve given up on handwriting thoughts.

So the post idea just sits patiently, sometimes napping, waiting and nudges me occasionally.

Then one day, I just need to capture and release the butterfly idea first, in a Word document. Then copy the story into WordPress.  A trigger may be just a few photos in mind, to grace a blog post.

Painting by Eitienne Zacks, part of artist's works for exhibition "Those Lacking Exhibition, Take Refuge in Reality. Esker Foundation, Calgary 2016. Photo by J. Chong. Uses piles of books as metaphor on both enlightenment and prison corners of darkness when there's censorship or unwillingness to learn.
Painting by Etienne Zacks. Part of artist’s works for exhibition “Those Lacking Imagination, Take Refuge in Reality.” Esker Foundation, Calgary AB 2016. Photo by J. Chong. Uses piles of books as metaphor on both intellectual enlightenment and prison corners of darkness when there’s censorship or unwillingness to learn.

A good karma time for a few hours of busy quietness, dedicated to wordsmithing and happy photo selection.

Instinct Writing Tumbles Out Like Happy Baby
Most of the time I think it’s good karma time for writing.   Maybe akin to allowing the baby  to tumble out into a blog post, giggling and happy at birth. Baby is then washed and clean to greet the world. Even a sad topic becomes a creation that is whole and complete in comprehension. Baby asks in delight and wonder:  I see you. Look at me. I want to talk with you, wave my hands and feet  with you.

Gurgling baby nephew. Photo by J.Chong
Gurgling baby nephew. Photo by J.Chong

Some Resources:
Alexander, J. How Four Words Got Me Back on the Writing Track. In Pairings: Art and What Goes With It blog. Jan. 5, 2015.

17 Comments Add yours

  1. Thanks for this post and for the resource you point to. They are inspiring.
    Adele

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      Good to see you, teacuptyrants!

      Like

  2. livelytwist says:

    Like you sometimes ideas percolate in my mind for a while before I pull out my laptop and hit the keys. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jean says:

      🙂 I wanted to express the writing urge that wasn’t as long as my visual art blog post.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Mabel Kwong says:

    Lovely to read your blog process, Jean. I too like to do my posts in Word – bigger space and I feel I can edit my posts and save a version along the way. Also, ideas take time to come and unfold so I understand where you’re coming from. Quite a few of my blog posts I have been wanting to write for the last couple of years but inspiration hasn’t struck until recently.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jean says:

      Frankly I don’t understand how some bloggers can do a quick post on an iPhone. Maybe it’s a just a photo they want to post. I would be tempted to add at least a short poem. That’s just me.

      How long do you approx. take to write up the text for 1 post on a subject matter that you are already conversant / have a strong opinion?

      Looking forward to your upcoming post, Mabel.

      Like

      1. Mabel Kwong says:

        I too can’t understand how some bloggers can post so quick, and sometimes every day too.

        I take about 2 or three weeks to put together my blog posts. I usually spend a few days putting out all my ideas and drafting, and a few other days to chop, change and edit. Then comes the photography – choosing and editing the photos, sometimes editing over two programs over a couple of days. It can get frustrating sometimes with writer’s block, but I love the whole process.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Jean says:

          Since it’s a personal blog, I tend to write up over 75% of my blog posts each within 2-4 hrs. Depending on topic and how well I wrote first draft, I tweak it over next few days. That means spending half an hr. or even only 15 min. here and there each day. Selecting, adjusting and embedding photos might be a few more hrs. Or if I wrote very well with very few edits, I can complete the blog post with selected embedded photos in 1 afternoon.

          Usually I let it sit in the hopper for a few wks. or even months since it depends on the publishing line-up. You’ll find me spending 5 min…to correct a typo, more wordsmithing. 🙂

          If it was work-related topic (which my blog is not), writing and editing would be more extensive.

          Like

          1. Mabel Kwong says:

            Wordsmithing. I love that word. Sounds like you care for each and every one for your posts, polishing them up before releasing them to the world.

            Sometimes I could spend almost an hour correcting and editing two or three paragraphs. I’m very picky that way, which isn’t always a good thing 🙂

            Like

  4. Sue Slaght says:

    First let me say that baby nephew is adorable! Congratulations!
    I too have ideas of things I would like to write that have floated about for some time. Usually I get a gut feel for when the time is right.

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      Baby nephew (1 of several) is a bigger boy –now, 6 yrs. old. 🙂

      Ideas are like tropical fish swimming in clear but deeper waters: you can see them but they dart around the coral and seaweed.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. thedumplingmama says:

    Great post Jean! Love the photo of your handwritten notes. I use to have a diary growing up and there was a period my handwriting was terrible. I also had to throw away those diaries because I could not read them. I try to blog each week with a recent event, recipe, or Chinese culture topic. I have an Evernote document of blog entry ideas I can add to from my phone or computer. If I’m struggling with a topic I’ll pull from this list.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jean says:

      You’re so organized…jotting down notes for ideas. I’ve never done that in my life. Maybe shooting tons of photos is my form of note-taking since it’s so easy nowadays. 🙂 And free.

      Glad to know there is another sloppy handwriter. 😀 My handwriting was so bad that profs., couldn’t read my essay answers well on certain tests. Not sure what happens now. Students probably can type..

      Like

  6. I love your photos. Glad when you come out to play.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jean says:

      I had fun selecting the right images.. benefit of sometimes shooting photos a lot. You’re pretty illustrative also with your posts.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Love the baby fern curls. =)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jean says:

      Start of a new life, new idea, new day. 🙂

      Like

Chime in with your thoughts here!

