Taste Ticklers: Matcha Green Tea Desserts or Monster Squash Sprouts?

Matcha green tea muffin plus a green tea brownie. Basho Café, Vancouver BC 2014. Photo by J.Chong
Matcha green tea muffin plus a green tea brownie. Basho Café, Vancouver BC 2014. Photo by J.Chong

So far, I’ve prided myself in eating weird looking food. Anyone raised on predominantly traditional Asian cuisine for first 20 years of their life, tends to think so. As a kid, I ate rehydrated tiger lily buds steamed with meat, bitter melon. Heck, I’ve crunched on ugh, sea cucumber in a restaurant. It’s gelatinous AND crunchy. It definitely is not my palate at all. But heck, the other stuff I do try.

Love Matcha Tea Desserts
Later, I enjoyed myself on matcha green tea desserts at Basho Café, a Vancouver coffee place run by Japanese-Canadian family. Jack was underwhelmed, bored. Well, what do you expect from someone with a family heritage of German gourmet dessert baking and a family vineyard in his family tree since 1700’s?

Matcha green tea latte. Basho Café, Vancouver BC 2014. Photo by J.Chong
Matcha green tea latte. Basho Café, Vancouver BC 2014. Photo by J.Chong

Green Tea Ice Cream and Desserts: Too Weird for Prairie Taste?

Matchta green tea cake with passionfurit and mango filling and black sesame seeds. Ganache Patisserie, Vancouver BC. 2015. Photo by J.Chong
Matchta green tea cake with lychee fruit and mango filling with black sesame seeds. Ganache Patisserie, Vancouver BC. 2015. Photo by J.Chong

In Calgary, at a popular handmade ice cream store, I inquired if the company produced green tea ice cream, a flavour I enjoy in Vancouver.  Not surprisingly, the employee told me they were still experimenting in making it sweeter.  Now Calgary has far more limited and less adventurous cuisine choices than Vancouver and Toronto  –despite what you might read in Calgary tourist information.  Green tea desserts do have a slight herbaceous taste..of tea, a slight green taste. It must be offensive to cow, er, beef eaters in the prairies.

Monster Squash Sprout Garden
But my snooty worldly palate was seriously challenged last autumn.  I cut into a butternut squash stored in a cupboard for over 2 months.  I was in shock.  An entire bean sprout garden had grown in its dark squashy womb from the squash seeds.  The squash was self-seeding monster gone bonkers.

Frankenstein self-seeding bean sprouts grows inside butternut squash --before I cut open squash. In my kitchen 2015. Photo J. Chong
Frankenstein self-seeding sprouts grows inside in butternut squash — before I cut open squash. In my kitchen 2015. Photo J. Chong

I did gingerly try a tiny sprout. It was ok. But honest, after 10 seconds, I gouged out the frankenstein bean sprout garden from its squash womb and threw away the sprout jungle into the garbage. The sight was just so abherrent to me, that I didn’t want to make squash bean sprout meal.

But I did cut up and cook the squash. Fine.

I do eat other bean sprout types that we find at Vancouver’s farmers markets  –chive, garlic, etc. It’s wonderful stuff for a salad entirely made of 2-3 types of bean sprouts with cherry tomatoes and light homemade dressing.

Perusing selection of different fresh sprouts for home salad. Vancouver BC 2014. Photo by J. Becker
Perusing selection of different fresh sprouts for home salad. Vancouver BC 2014. Photo by J. Becker

Would you have eaten squash bean sprouts if you made the same kitchen discovery? Or perhaps matcha green tea desserts is more your cup of tea or coffee?

34 Comments Add yours

  1. livelytwist says:

    Ha ha none of them are my cup of tea 🙂
    I grew up in Nigeria, so what I eat at home would be exotic and so out there to others. I’ve adapted to my version of a Euro-African cuisine. I can’t be bothered to go to the specialty shops to find the ingredients for Nigerian cooking. I do like the Dutch- bread, cheese, and potatoes. It helps that I’m not big on food.

    You’re a brave experimenter. The green tea muffins don’t look too bad.

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      What would be unusual foods/dishes that you had in Nigeria? I’m not big on potatoes but do not have problems eating potato dishes if served to me. I just don’t buy potatoes for home. The green tea muffins were lovely.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I think I would have thrown the whole thing out Jean! But good for you for trying it. Whenever you mention Vancouver in a post, I get this sense that you really miss living there. I wouldn’t blame you, if you did. ❤
    Diana xo

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      I do miss Vancouver.. You will continue to see Calgary stuff embedded in my posts since I have a whole line up of a few waiting in line. But spirit of Vancouver or even Toronto, is closer at heart. Maybe I should do an infographic comparing the cities one day.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. that would be interesting!

        Like

      2. I too would find a city comparison interesting!

        Like

        1. Jean says:

          Coincidentally I’ve been working on a strange masterpiece today. 🙂

          Like

  3. Vancouver looks an exciting place to be. Don’t think I could eat those sprouts and as for green tea- not my cup of tea teehee

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      Green tea desserts are pretty gentle, tame stuff. Incredibly….tame unlike the sprout wilderness I discovered. 🙂 You would love Vancouver.

      Like

  4. Umm. I do like the taste of macha tea. But the muffin color is a little over-the-rainbow for me. Push me!

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      Just pretend the muffin is crème de methe. If you like green tea ice cream, other desserts work. After all, some sugar is added to the mix to please the tummy.

      Like

  5. Sue Slaght says:

    Jean like you the surprise of the sprouts in the squash would have had me sending the sprouts to the garbage! I’d love to try some of your favourite treats though. 🙂

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      I don’t have a basement. So my squash from farmers’ market end up in a bottom cupboard. Then usually I cut into a squash to eat part of it, while cubing up rest for freezer. Putting a whole uncut squash outdoors would prematurely freeze them uncut with our sudden hard frost/cold days. Unless you have other advice. Wondered why it happened this time because it’s never happened before in the all years I’ve dealt with squash.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sue Slaght says:

        I’ve never seen it either! Short of having it in the fridge I’m not sure what to suggest.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Robyn Haynes says:

    This is the first I’ve heard of matcha tea – is it just another name for green tea?

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      I’m reluctantly giving a Wikipedia reference: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Matcha simply because the info. needs to be verified from a tea growers’ association. But it’s a start. The best way to view it is that matcha tea is powdered, intense and prepared quite differently because it is powdered. Its taste is different from the other tea leaf oriented varieties. Do you drink any tea at all?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Robyn Haynes says:

        Thanks for enlightening me Jean. Yes I’m a tea drinker: green,black and also herbal blends. I’m on Tulsi at the moment.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Mabel Kwong says:

    I love bean sprouts, so I don’t think I’d mind eating those sprouts at all. Doesn’t sound like they have a particularly strong taste so should be fine.

    I’ve never understood the fascination and popularity of all things green-tea and matcha. I’ve tried matcha cake, biscuits and tea over the last few years and they don’t really rock my boat. I do like pandan, though. That I can never usually get enough of but hard to find and expensive in Australia.

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      You’re right the sprout that I gingerly tried, didn’t have any strong taste. But the sprout appearance inside squash cavity was so unexpected and freakish, that it didn’t look appetizing at all.

      I like green tea and matcha flavours if the dessert hasn’t been sweetened much. I would need to look up pandan… The problem with “green tea” generic term, is that sometimes it’s lumped with all non-black teas (from a tea leaf).

      Liked by 1 person

  8. That’s my kind of food and I can enjoy green tea and matcha based food almost everywhere now in the USA, although it’s harder in rural areas and small towns. Enjoy! Cheers!

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      Green tea in rural U.S. areas would be truly exotic. May tea time be always good Me time for you, evelyne.

      Like

      1. Thank you, Jean. I love tea and even more the relaxing feeling associated with it. Oh also I love green tea cheesecake! 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  9. So long as there was no strange smell, I’d have been okay with those sprouts and also the squash. But we are each different, with different preferences and degrees of squeamishness, so I completely understand your choice to ditch the sprouts but keep the squash.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jean says:

      If I was starving and had little food, I would dig in and eat the sprouts.

      Like

  10. Just made the BEST banana chocochip bread today free of gluten, yeast, sugar and I’m thinking BINGO! Green muffins sound wonderful. Those are the freshest-looking sprouts I’ve laid eyes on. Very cool.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jean says:

      Yes, the squash sprouts were the freshest I’ve ever seen. 🙂 I can believe that banana can make some desserts sugar free.

      I used to make chocolate chip, banana cookies. Very popular and good.

      Like

  11. Fantastic new look. The latte in my “hiatus” post is — macha green tea latte. You have exquisite taste my dear.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jean says:

      🙂 Glad machta green tea latte is giving you some creative boost, JB.

      It takes time even for a blogger to get used to their own new look/wordpress theme. I noticed yours occasionally turns over on a new leaf..tea leaf.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Sheree says:

    I love green tea matcha ice cream! One or our local organic bakeries does matcha flavoured brioche which is delish.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jean says:

      Matcha flavoured brioche would be a greenish tinged pastry which in the eyes of the French, you’re adventurous. 🙂

      Like

  13. Lani says:

    I agree, green tea and its snacks are an acquired taste.

    Did you ever look up sprouting squash? Ug. It does look unsavory. I probably would have thrown it out!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jean says:

      Apparently for many people, green tea stuff is an acquired taste. Unless one loads it with lots of sugar. No, I didn’t bother looking up squash sprouts. I was too freaked out!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Lani says:

        I totally understand! >.<

        Like

  14. wycehub says:

    Oh how many interesting dishes! I love to see and to taste dishes from other countries 🙂 I’m italian and I only know italian cuisine I thin but it’s so good! Come to take a look at my blog if u want 🙂 It’s new…Ciao! 😉

    Like

Chime in with your thoughts here!

