Crafting My Personal Blogger Infographic

After stumbling across Piktochart and free template, I cobbled my first personal blogger infographic. Clearly I am behind:  I didn’t know resumes could be dolled up as an infographic.

Here’s more information than you’ll ever need.  I spent too much time having fun.

You might have to increase your Screen View to 125 – 150% to read this trivia.  Cheers!

Bigger JeanBlogger Infograph2

 

 

38 Comments Add yours

  1. These infographics are always interesting to read. I did not even know that there is a service to make your own one (though I should have guessed as there is for everything some company already..)

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      Piktochart is free if you’re willing to choose from about 10 or so free templates (out of 400). You probably could do stuff like a Christmas card or family tree with Nathan / family adventures. One day Nathan will tell his story.. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Currently I am actually doing some family tree research on my families side. It doesn’t go beyond the 1750 though and on my wife’s side is nothing as she has zero interest in these things

        Like

        1. Jean says:

          My partner also can trace his family back to the 1700’s. I’m envious! Keep at it and collect those family stories. Nathan will ask. Methinks your wife is taken for granted that her parents will be around for the next 90 years. Then those stories will be lost. She’ll come around but it might take a few decades.

          Like

          1. Actually she has no interest at all in the family. She does not even know really about her fathers family which used to be rather big but now she only knows her dad and one of his sisters.

            Like

            1. Jean says:

              The sad thing, ccfamily, is a few wks. before my father died, I tried to ask him more questions about his family. He thought I was nuts to ask him. And this is in the hospital when it was his dying last few wks. He couldn’t get out of bed, due to the cancer.

              Like

            2. I know it’s sad so I’ve hope she might change her mind when she sees all my research but all efforts have been fruitless so far.

              Like

            3. Jean says:

              Just focus on telling your family stories to Nathan directly when he understands. Impart your fairy tales, fables to him. The choice is your wife’s if she wishes to dig up the best history memories from her family’s past. If she gets annoyed, then all you have tell her is: You have a lot of stories to tell Nathan….tell them. It’s part of his identity also.

              I do consider my blog in a way, the best way, if they interested, to impart stories and photos to family, including the younger generation.

              Liked by 1 person

  2. Jean summarized on an info chart – pretty cool Jean! ❤
    Diana xo

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      Well kinda one-sided that infographic. Still, it did require just abit of planning. First time I actually enjoyed with some simple graphics. Normally I like the “feel” of paints, flex of paintbrush/ink nib, etc.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Maybe one day I’ll get to see some of your art in person Jean – meet you in person! Then we can each right a post about it from our own perspective. 🙂

        Like

        1. Jean says:

          Haven’t done much art and a lot of it’s messing around.
          That would be something …bloggers’ meet day, coffee or tea day while the weather’s still good. Sunnyside Hillhurst Farmers’ Market is on Saturday until Sept. 12th.. PM me if any Saturday is of interest…

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Lani says:

    Fun! I’ve been wanting to create an infograph for some time now. Thanks for the reminder and inspiration 🙂

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      If you ever want to teach someone about storyboarding… Lani, your life worldwide would be hard to condense. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Lani says:

        Thanks. I don’t think I’m that much of a world-traveller, but I’ll take the compliment.

        Like

  4. Mabel Kwong says:

    This is a very interesting infographic and I had no idea that you could do one for your own like this. It’s amazing. You certainly live a healthy life – same weight for a while, cycling every day and watch what you eat. “Fashion independent” – that’s quite a cool phrase and I like how you don’t dye your hair. I wonder if I ever will do that some day.

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      I like being fashion independent –it’s a cheaper lifestyle. 🙂 What I didn’t squish in another fact, was that I sewed 80% of my wardrobe for 10 years before I took up cycling. After awhile, you become very discriminating in clothing purchase quality and fit at stores. There was a time I would get inspired browsing in a large fabric store..all the colours, textures and what one could possibly sew. So seeing the runway fashion show clips on TV, to me, it is fun to watch and…see art.

      Mabel, give yourself time when you do turn grey which won’t be for another few decades. You might look lovely given your face shape,etc. and a very smart hair cut. I do think for a lot of Asian women, if they focused on a slightly sleeker hair cut, not perm, it looks elegant. Going grey with black hair looks nicer than going grey when you have red hair.

      Like

      1. Mabel Kwong says:

        Sewing is a great skill to have. Sounds like you have an eye for fashion, Jean. Making clothes that fit just right for your frame. Must have been faster than shopping for clothes.

        Hopefully I turn grey nicely with age, like a fine wine 😀

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Jean says:

          I actually should have put that skill in 1 of my crazy trivia circles in the post. All my sisters are competent sewers like myself. My mother made sure of it, since that would quell our fashion clothing purchase requests since we were very poor. We were sewing some of our cordorouy jeans in our late teens with French seams. One of my lst major purchases shortly after I finished university was to buy my own sewing machine so that I could sew some decent business clothing. I barely had any money when I entered into the workforce.

          Like

          1. Mabel Kwong says:

            Such an interesting childhood you had, Jean. And you made jeans too. I’m guessing they were soft jeans and not the stiff ones tend to be sold at many cheap outlet stores (at least here in Australia). You could always start a sewing business for a bit of extra income, you know…

            Like

            1. Jean says:

              They were softer. Well, I consider my childhood along with siblings, quite tough. Economically hard which limited some of our activities. But at least we shared ice skates, bikes, etc.

              Lol, I need to make sure sewing machine is running smoothly. It’s in a different city which I use to alter store-bought clothing now.

              It is a lost skill but it’s great to see vestiges of its return via do-it-yourself movement, along with gardening, canning, etc.

              Liked by 1 person

  5. Sue Slaght says:

    How fun is that?! What a great idea Jean. I am still smiling at the ‘bicycle forward no matter how slow’. Yes this is very good life advice. Wishing you all the very best.

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      Hi Sue: There’s another aphorism….To stay balanced on the bike, you have to keep on pedaling.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sue Slaght says:

        That’s another excellent one!

        Like

  6. Holy SmOkeS! I am still back in the Middle Ages technologically. How’d ya do that?? Excellent.

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      Piktochart offers a few free templates to save (some) time. However I have this feeling HWayfarer, you love to write, write with passion and care less about visuals, colour. Colour comes through your writing. Witness your number of commenters.

      I’m just dang lazier by using some photos, visuals to perk up people’s interest.

      Like

      1. You’re so sweet. I love it: “Colour comes through your writing.” Just love it. And I wouldn’t call you lazy, J. Wish I had your magic eye. 😉 It’s a gift to be able to coordinate colors and texture and communicate through them!

        Like

  7. livelytwist says:

    I enjoyed reading your infographic- nice layout and colours. Since you enjoyed it so much, should we expect another soon? 🙂
    Bicycle forward, now that’s a creed to live by.

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      It will be awhile before I do another infographic, if I do another, and probably on a totally different thing. I didn’t change the base colours of the template –after I discovered it was layered underneath other stuff. Too much excavation. So I removed and piled on other ornaments and snippets. It was like decorating a Christmas tree.. Not hard since Piktochart offers a free icon library.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. diahannreyes says:

    I enjoyed reading this. wow-white rice 5-6 times annually only? As an Asian/Filipina, I can’t even fathom 😉 Love that creativity is your addiction. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jean says:

      Glad you enjoyed the infographic fun. Yes, I used to have rice at least for dinner 80% of the time up until 6 yrs. ago. Now I just don’t feel well when I eat too much rice. I don’t find brown rice that helpful either. Wild rice which is a totally different thing in North America, I probably could handle. So having sushi several times a year is a treat for me. So I get annoyed when it’s not good sushi and sashimi.

      Like

      1. diahannreyes says:

        Yes there is quite a difference between subpar sushi and excellent sushi! I have become a quinoa fan myself.

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Jean says:

    For whatever reason quinoa is quite expensive to buy in bulk in our area. I end up buying couscous. But I’ve tried some excellent restaurant salads made with quinoa.

    Like

  10. This is sweet. Did it take a long time to put together?

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      If you have worked with Excel at a basic level, you can figure out the quantitative chart part. Or ignore it/delete that part. Piktochart has about 10 free templates to use. It offers a little library of images to be creative.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. 4 pairs of cycling shoes?? Wow! That’s almost as many as Imelda Marcos had!! : )

    So this was your first infographic– very nice, Jean! I liked your Always Bike Forward credo (especially good advice for hills!), and that shot of you pedaling merrily thru the flower pots!

    Don’t think I’ve ever seen anyone’s Mobility History before– a very innovative stat! Well done!! : )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jean says:

      My shoes are for healthy fun but then Imelda would have argued with me otherwise. 😉

      You’re right it is a mobility personal history but I never saw it that way. Guess I was too much into doing this creation.

      Like

Chime in with your thoughts here!

