A Shimmer of Watery Flower Dreams

Cycle Write blog serves as my memoir tablet of things I’ve seen, things I’ve done and things I dream now and later.

Water lilies. Beaver Lake. Stanley Park, Vancouver BC. 2014. Photo by J. Chong
Water lilies. Beaver Lake. Stanley Park, Vancouver BC. 2014. Photo by J. Chong

This mixed media painting, A Shimmer of Watery Flower Dreams, is both art and a memory fragment.  It’s art done and gone because I have given away this piece as a gift, to a family member.

A Shimmer of Watery Flowers. Mixed media painting by J. Chong 2013.
A Shimmer of Watery Flowers. Mixed media painting by J. Chong 2013.

Yes, this painting includes faint impression of a leaf plucked off the ground and pressed into purply perpetuity,  by my printmaking roller along with other  watery hues.  The shifting colours are like  brilliant water lilies that lie perfectly still and then, tremble along the water surface with the gentle breeze.  Their huge lily green pads  cradle and  carry the bright pink and yellow lily blossoms above the water surface.  But actually no, the blossoms rise up from the muddy  lake bed and unfurl their petal loveliness to the sun and admirers.

To see slideshow controls, hover your computer mouse over a slideshow photo below.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Now, it’s an infusion of water lily colours and dreamscape –like wispy,  cloud colour bursts of sunset settling along the water. A dragonfly flits about -a drifting wisp with glass wings and shining body. Moments I love to capture forever.

32 Comments Add yours

  1. velovoiceblogspot says:

    Wow! These are stunning, Jean!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jean says:

      Thank you. Something for new dreams for others.

      Like

  2. Jane Thorne says:

    I love these images Jean, especially the water lilies, the ducks and the sunset…what treasures. When we gift old treasures, new treasures come in to fill the space created. Thank you. 🙂

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      These are visual treasures and am glad you enjoy them. It’s a lovely way of expressing it Jane: gifting old for giving new treasures! You can do a blog post on that very next theme you aptly articulated.

      Like

  3. Jean, you really have an eye for beauty. I love your art and photography!
    Diana xo

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      Glad to have delighted you with this post.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. livelytwist says:

    Your memoir tablet of things you’ve seen, things you’ve done, and things you dream now and later, is beautiful. Thanks for sharing them with us, Jean.

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      Kind of poignant beauty –not quite forever. But the beauty does return in some similar way for real and in memory.

      Like

  5. Mabel Kwong says:

    Didn’t know that you were a bit of an artist, Jean. I am certainly impressed. It must have taken you a while to finish each piece of artwork. The photos are lovely too. Pressing painted leaves onto paper – I always did that as a kid in art class but my works of art were no where as colourful as yours 🙂

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      I’m an art dabbler– it is a long-time passion of mine on the sidelines of life, yet in a way central to a part of me. This piece would have taken me 2 days and the piece itself just evolves while working on it.

      Like

      1. Mabel Kwong says:

        Art dabbler. Glad that you’re doing something that you genuinely like – that always makes us happy. Wow, only two days to work on that piece. I am sure you have many other pieces worth sharing.

        Like

  6. Lani says:

    Great crisp photos. I am remembering how I originally found you, through your art, so it’s good to see it again. I particularly like the blue and gold together. It’s a bit unexpected and I love gold in paintings, like Klimt.

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      Actually it’s just yellow paint, but if the colour combinations remind you of other art fragments — some of the Southeast Asian art that uses gold leaf? Glad we discovered one another through art, Lani.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Thank you for sharing your art and nature art as well. Gorgeous.

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      I appreciate your drop-by visit, Evelyne. Thought I would do a blog post that was less demanding on the reader –just need to look.

      Like

  8. Rita Azar says:

    Jean, you are so talented. Your artwork is absolutely beautiful. I love the colors and contrasts. Your photos are gorgeous! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      Hope I brightened your day with some images of beauty, Rita.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Sue Slaght says:

    Jean these photos are so beautiful and your painting so gorgeous. You, among other things, are obviously a very talented artist. Thank you for sharing this and i apologize for my delayed visit as I didn’t see your post in my WordPress Reader.

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      Like several other bloggers, I don’t know how the wordpress.com Reader works. I enjoyed the painting myself but had to make some space at home ..for more paintings and canvasses that are stacking up slowly.

      Like

  10. Pressed into purply perpetuity?? Jean!! That’s a rather flowery phrase!! : )

    Always exciting to see some of your artwork. That’s a stunner! I love the “morphing effect” created by the overlays, and the colors work beautifully together. Well done!

    What a wonderful photo sequence. The photos are all lovely by themselves; together, they create a kind of visual meditation, and really soothe the soul. Your photography just gets better and better.

    Great post, Jean– thanks for sharing! : )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jean says:

      I was verging into purple prose land. 🙂 The painting was a pleasant unplanned surprise since working with different inks, paints, tissues, etc. result in partially-unknown results when overlaying different colours and media. Mark, you have articulated it right, that the photo are intended to be a meditative contemplation on Nature’s beauty. May you enjoy fall’s glorious colours.

      Liked by 2 people

  11. I had no idea how talented you are..Water lilies are one of my favourite flowers. Thank you for sharing…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jean says:

      Seems to me I only see pink, yellow and white water lilies outdoors in my part of the world. Do you see other colours where you are when they grow naturally outdoors? Slideshow is for cultivating happy beautiful memories for anyone.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Water lilies are not very common here in NZ. But they are very common in my native Sri Lanka. The last lot of water lilies I saw was in Singapore last April. They are the purple ones I have on the header of my Blog.

        Liked by 1 person

  12. Jean, how gorgeous! Have you been holding out on us about your amazing artistic gift? Nice to see you here again, with such lovely treats.

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      Am very much a neophyte Jann, in art but a long time side explorer in art both doing it (only certain medium) and looking at other people’s works. I don’t have much to show at this point.

      Liked by 1 person

  13. jbw0123 says:

    Stunning! Thanks for posting your work.

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      🙂 Glad you enjoyed the pics, jbw

      Like

  14. Gail Rehbein says:

    Beautiful! …words and pictures.

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      Thank you Gail, and may you see great things along your rides also.

      Liked by 1 person

Chime in with your thoughts here!

