Not a Badass? Then Dear Follower, Tell Us Who You Are

Ass on stage in a ballet, dancing in scenes from Shakespeare's comedy, "A Midsummer Night's Dream". Muse Winery, North Saanich, Vancouver Island 2014. Photo by J. Chong
Donkey-ass on stage in outdoor performance by Ballet Etoile. Dancing some scenes from Shakespeare’s comedy, “A Midsummer Night’s Dream”. Muse Winery, North Saanich, Vancouver Island 2014. Photo by J. Chong

Honest, I’m befuddled that I  have 400+ blog followers.  I only know and hear from 10% of my followers.  So this blog post, isn’t directed to my frequent readers and  commenters.

Nor is this post for pedestrian visitors who bump into this blog by using a general Google search, but choose not to follow this blog.

There are blog followers here, who have said absolutely nothing for the last few years. They have not even “liked” any blog post.  It’s hard to read that type of response: nothing.  I’m not sure if they are lurkers who are shy, bored or have unsavoury intentions. To the latter group with nefarious thoughts, don’t waste your precious time blog squatting nor spamming.

Some blog  subscribers want to sell to my readers and I, something that they have because their blog is nothing but their product or service which may or may not be related to my primary blog topics. Sorry, I’m not interested in buying anything. I have all my necessities. Thank you. I don’t wish to struggle with Canada-U.S. customs ‘cause I just can’t be bothered to pay extra fees for cross-border online purchases.

My regular readers do give a general sense of who they are and which part of the world they inhabit.  I’m grateful for their time, humour, graciousness and curiosity. (Well, they must be curious because they look and make comments on my blog.)  So again, this blog post is not directed to this crowd of readers.

So if you haven’t spoken up, speak up about yourself or may I suggest:  just quietly go fishing elsewhere. Unhook yourself by unsubscribing from this blog.    I won’t be hurt, I won’t be bothered if my reader statistics fall over the cliff.  I’d rather not clog up your email with automatic notices of new blog posts which you probably aren’t reading anyway.

I wish you well in search of positive things that benefit your broader community. For both regular readers and those who have left for other explorations:   may you leave a long lasting ripple of goodness to also your loved ones.

Puck, the mischevious green dressed ballerina and clumsy ass tiptoe around the sleeping dancers who have fallen under a dreamy spell. Muse Winery. North Saanich, Vancouver Island 2014. Photo by J. Chong
Puck, the mischevious green dressed ballerina, and clumsy donkey-ass tiptoe around the sleeping dancers who have fallen under a dreamy spell. Puck is imitating the ass. Performance by Ballet Etoile at Muse Winery. North Saanich, Vancouver Island 2014. Photo by J. Chong
46 Comments Add yours

  1. Interesting post with valid points that can be applied to most blogs. Mine included. In the past, you’ve liked one of my posts, perhaps the one that was Freshly Pressed. I replied to every comment and checked the “Like (s),” although they were obviously from people seeking for their own readership. You’re right about the people who really read us. I can’t in all honesty read every single blogger who follows me but I do read the blogs I follow and always check every post that comes into my Inbox. We have entered a brave new world that comes with huge advantages in terms of communication but also with challenges. Virtuality comes with a cost.
    Also when a blog is versatile, people don’t necessary read every single post but only the ones that fit their interests.
    Interesting thoughts anyway, which match many bloggers’ concerns or at least impressions, I’m sure.
    Best to you.

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      No expectation that any reader should read or even skim every new published post to a subscribed blog. You are on-target right evelyn that it’s a brave new world of virtual communication and presence. Virtuality comes with a cost on several fronts. I try to be mindful of reader’s time, by publishing narrowly defined blog post topics. Give them lots of photos if words are too much of an effort. 🙂

      May you continue to be inspired in your blogging journeys!

      Like

  2. Sorry. A comment from someone who has commented previously and enjoys reading your blog. Boring, I know. I’ve got more followers than that. No idea what the current score is as I don’t pay attention. I’ve got a pretty consistent group of followers who comment. As for the ones who click like from Reader as soon as I’ve published 2000 words, they are too transparent even to be funny. Like the photos.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jean says:

      Great to hear from you, roughseas in Gilbratar! You have commented from time to time. Glad you enjoyed the ballet photos –it was treat for us during our short bike trip.

      Like

  3. velovoiceblogspot says:

    Excellent post. I deal with the very same frustrations with my own blog. And yes, this is my first comment here and I’ll tell you why.

    Because thinking about why I haven’t “liked” or commented on any of your blog posts before shed some light on why the majority of my readers may not give me any indicaiton that they do indeed exist. I had a Eureka! moment, thinking about this, so thought I’d share.

    The thing is: I don’t get on with WordPress*. I do stumble across great blogs here — fantastic blogs! And I want to read them regularly so I click Follow. Then I never hear a word. Nada. Zip. No notifications of new posts by e-mail. Nothing. And I hate the login process here. End result? I don’t manage to keep up with hardly any WordPress-hosted blogs, even the really really really unbelievably fabulous ones. Written by dear personal friends, even.

    Never mind.

    I *may* try to seek out your blog (out of the dozens I try to keep up with) specifically. I may even try to click “like” occasionally or post a comment if something really hits me.

    But even if I don’t… I don’t intend to Un-follow you. Live with it. 😉

    * I use Blogger. I hear people complain about it, too. So, same diff.

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      Rather than use “follow” for wordpress.com blogs, I would recommend if the blog has a subscribe box widget (Usually on right or left hand side of blog ….or even at the footer.), to use that feature instead. That is a more reliable traditional tool that will send an email notice to subscriber for newly published blog posts.

      To my understanding “follow” provides to logged in wordpress readers/users, to see in their WordPress Reader, the list of blog posts for subscribed blogs.http://en.support.wordpress.com/followers/ I never thought of this problem until you highlighted, this velovoice. So thank you for the heads up.

      I actually bookmark blogs that I like but will use a linked blog on person’s avatar for frequent readers/readers who I know/trust. So any commenter who gets me as a frequent reader, means I have taken the extra effort/step to do this. (So such bloggers are a special group for me.)

      Hope you find balance cycling, blogging and living well. I don’t subscribe to google to comment on blogs, by the way. Maybe offer some more commenting options?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. velovoiceblogspot says:

        Thanks for this, Jean. I do really struggle with WordPress – so much doesn’t feel intuitive to me. I will try and figure out the various options you mention and see if I can get to grips with them. As for my own blog, I offer as many commenting options as I believe are available without paying for additional widgets. I do know that the ability to comment “anonymously” works well – I use it when reading blogs from work, where I am unable to log in to Blogger to comment as ‘myself’. Not sure if that’s an option in WordPress too?

        Like

        1. Jean says:

          WordPress.com has improved but also provided more features to bloggers. So learning wordpress.com now would probably be a different experience than when I learned it 4 years ago.

          I’m not aware that as a non-wordpress.com blogger, that you have to log in. I’ll have to ask. You should be able to comment anonymously or similar.

          Like

  4. livelytwist says:

    I smiled as I read this because it resonates. Maybe because I blog as well, I know that it’s a good habit to leave comments on posts I like and have something to say about. I’ve found out that quite a number of my readers don’t comment, and only WordPress bloggers can ‘like’ a comment. I suspect you’ve got ‘silent’ but loyal readers as well.

    I did a similar post earlier this year, though mine was more tongue-in-cheek 🙂
    It’s called, Any Comments: No, I think I’ll Pass. You can search for it under the tag, humour, if you want. At least, you’ll know you’re not alone 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jean says:

      That blog post of yours was clever! You must have spent time hammering out that little golden piece.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. livelytwist says:

        Glad you stopped over to read it. See, you’re not alone 🙂
        Every minute I spent hammering the post was worth it! I still read it for laughs.

        Like

  5. Jean, I never really give any of that much thought. I am aware that most of my followers don’t comment or like posts often. Some are not active for months and then suddenly come back after a break from reading and writing. Many read my posts faithfully and never comment – that’s just who they are – when I see them face to face they’ll say something like, hey I read your post about this or that and really loved it!

    Like you, however, I am thrilled and honoured when folks take time to like one of my posts or even comment. It always makes my day!

    Diana xo

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      I haven’t really had many people tell me face to face what they thought of my blog/particular post. Probably less than 10 people.

      Like you, I appreciate readers who drop by with something to say that’s somehow related or a simple like. I know others don’t care for “likes” but some people do use it as a genuine signal.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Sue Slaght says:

    Jean I am not certain if you want my feedback since I have commented here before. Like you I have a big percentage that seem like quiet observers. I also have another large section that comment a lot. As to why I don’t hear from some it may be lack of time, lack of interest, when they followed they were looking for a follow back…I’m not completely sure. Really I’m not much help other than saying you are not alone in having some silent followers.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jean says:

      Appreciate you passing by here, Sue. Just wanted to encourage those who don’t speak/comment, to make their presence known by words to others who do speak. You are also a busy blogger…look more to what you have to say and show us over time.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Lani says:

    I think so many everyday bloggers struggle with this. By now, aren’t we all aware of those who follow just to be followed? Or who leave their little icons behind, but never do anything more? Maybe WP can create a way for us to “star” followers who actually participate, and then we can have a list of true fans 🙂

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      Great idea..some sort of symbol as blog owner, could click to show that beside person’s gravatar or comment.

      Like

  8. Mabel Kwong says:

    Very thought provoking post, Jean. When I first started blogging on WordPress, I would make it a point to check out every single WP “blogger” who followed me. Most of the time I find the “blogger” either has a blog selling products (as you mentioned), is a new possibly-just-for-hobby blogger or their blog has just been deleted for violating rules. It is because of these reasons I have stopped looking at my subscriber numbers altogether – they are just numbers – and readers don’t need to be subscribers. And a Like on a post is just a Like – doesn’t necessarily mean you’ve read the whole post. I’m more inclined to check out and follow someone’s blog if they leave a comment on my blog, shows that they are making the effort to connect.

    I’ve always enjoyed your posts, Jean, especially the ones about cycling. Lovely photos too.

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      It’s always to think about whether or not to click on never-seen-previously blog linked to a blogger liking or commenting too vaguely. There are probably many readers like me…I just bookmark blogs I like to revisit later.

      Have you biked at all Mabel? Give a spin when the opportunity arises. You ought write more about the Chinese-Australian community there. I’m sure it’s diverse and getting larger each decade.

      Like

      1. Mabel Kwong says:

        I do get some comments where the blogger comments sort of vaguely on my post, and then invites me to check out their blog. Not a huge fan of this, but I do check out their blogs. Haha, I like to bookmark interesting posts I come across so I can read them later at my own leisure.

        Used to bike on training wheels when I was a kid and teen – without those wheelies I always couldn’t find my balance. Maybe I’ll try cycling again this summer in Australia 🙂 I do write about Chinese-Oz and multiculturalism in Australia…usually elsewhere these days 🙂

        Like

        1. Jean says:

          Keep on writing Mabel. Maybe try something basic which showcases the history of Chinese-Oz.
          To learn to bike, try cycling on grass and then going down a slight incline to put your feet on the pedals. Let me know how it goes..

          Like

  9. TinLizzie72 says:

    I frequently don’t “like” every post I read on every blog I follow because I’m afraid I’ll feel like a stalker! I guess I don’t worry too much about readership interaction, but I also have a very divided audience. I try to read all the blogs I follow but sometimes I don’t even have time to write my own, let alone keep up! (same with the news, I’m afraid). So as a non-commenter on your blog, let me apologize for not commenting before!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jean says:

      I don’t have problem liking a blog post if the blog is remotely related to topics on my blog. What do you mean by a “divided audience” for your blog? I’m curious. I’m not clear about my audience except there is a portion that are bloggers who naturally like to explore their world and that’s reflected in their blogs.

      Like

      1. TinLizzie72 says:

        Half my readers follow because of the fashion and sewing, while others for the bike stuff. Not much overlap. I can tell by the “likes” and comments.

        Like

        1. Jean says:

          Very interesting. There are some seamstresses who are cyclists I’ve read on the Internet Not many. One of them runs her own business for repair of outdoor tents, etc. plus athletic wear. I used to sew my own wardrobe –80% of my clothing which include sewing my own cord jeans, lined tailored jackets (with buttonhole pockets), etc. For about 15 years before cycling bug bit me. After that I let go of sewing. But I refuse to give up my sewing machine: I do alterations (I am small boned) for clothing that I buy. Besides, never say never. I could return to sewing a few garments one day. I used to love textile stores…it was like going into an art supply store for me (art is another interest I tinker on the side): imagining how I would create something (garment) as the final product.

          Hence, I am a fairly discriminating and picky consumer on fit and durability of clothing in stores. And why not? Sewing and tailoring is a real skill.

          Like

          1. TinLizzie72 says:

            Wow, nice to meet another bike stitcher, even if former! I’m not very good, but having worked as a costume designer, Broadway dresser, and fashion show dresser, plus making my own clothes with reflective details (so I can wear stuff in the office that is bike friendly), I too can get pretty snobby about retail options. But sewing is a lot of work, so I don’t rely on it as my only option. I didn’t see for a while after I left theater, but since starting biking, I decided to make what I couldn’t buy. It’s fun but not relaxing to me!

            Like

  10. Nádja&Jos says:

    Hi, Jean! Funny this came up just as I had subscribed to your blog yesterday (or was it the day before?). I am very new to blogging – reading or writing them – I used to be a bookworm – guess I still am – and blogs just seemed like a strange universe. But then I came across Mike On Bike’s blog and I was hooked! 🙂 I am still reading his post from years ago!!! Through his blog, I found yours and I do want to read your entries from the beginning as I am doing with Mike’s. But this weekend was/still is full of birthday parties and son’s school books to cover, so I will get to enjoy some reading on Monday. I agree with the previous commenter that liking every single entry on a blog seems like stalking. 🙂
    But I just wanted to say that I REALLY like your blog or else I wopuld not be following it. Oh, well, that’s me. 🙂
    Kind regards to you!
    Nádja

    Like

  11. Well said, Jean– and the bad-ass donkey photos were an inspired touch!! : )

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      🙂 Thanks Mark.

      Like

  12. Jane Thorne says:

    Great post Jean and blogging for me has become like friendships….I have lots of acquaintances, yet a handful of true friends. My blog followers are the same…I have a number, yet I have built true connections with a few…your ‘click the email button’ for blog posts is a good tip. Keep blogging as I for one enjoy your posts very much.. 🙂

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      You’ve touched on the right thing, Jane –just handful of true friends. I don’t mind acquaintances if they are merely benevolent visitors.

      I actually didn’t really think about my blog subscriber total until recently –until I realized it doesn’t reflect the true picture. Thx for your ongoing visits from time to time.

      Like

  13. Wow! Isn’t it ironic we both wrote a post about the topic of Comments and then we get comments galore. I still consider myself fairly new to blogging (It was my new year’s resolution in Jan) but I get the feeling that many WP followers click follow because they sincerely do like a blog but then alas, they lose interest in their own blog and thus just evaporate. Being the OCD person I am, I actually have genuine concern over losing a person that used to regularly comment. Did they get in a car accident? What happened? But this is from a mother of six who can’t sleep a wink until all my teenage drivers are safely tucked in bed. Anyhow, more to the point, I love your blog and count me in as a new follower AND a commenter.
    Take care,
    Stephanie
    Ps. So nice to see LivelyTwist commenting here and the post she cites of hers is also wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jean says:

      Thank you Miss Meno. 🙂 I was actually hope some subscribers would just move onto other exciting pastures. But only few and replaced by folks you! I actually wondered if I would offend my regular good readers /commenters with my blog post. Yes Lively’s post was a blog post gem.

      Like

  14. Rita Azar says:

    Hello! You know me already Jean!
    I think this is a problem most blogger face. I would love if you do a follow up to this post and let us know if some readers of your blog commented here for the first time to let you know who they are.

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      Just a tiny handful so far that have said abit more about themselves. Regular commenters don’t need to since they know I know them for past interactions in blogosphere. Some as you can see, apologized a bit. A few dropped off –but actually I was hoping more followers would said good-bye. But leavers were replaced by some joiners.

      Like

  15. TonyJ2 says:

    Jean, I can’t recall specifically how I came to follow your blog, but certainly not via WP Reader as I avoid it. Connection of a connection probably. Blogs I follow, like yours, are generally themed like cycling, or Japan, or disaster stuff for me. Maybe weirdly I look for personal stories and insights of folks rather than thought provoking and quality writing.

    For what I write (I am a low writing period now) I like the notion of folks following my posts, but have not been concerned about the level of comments or likes. My initial reason for starting to blog was to document stories and experiences I had travelling to Japan with a group of relatives, for my mother to read. She was so excited to know 2 of her sons, 5 grand kids and another 4 of their friends went off together! Photos alone did not give tell her everything.

    Now I have started a ‘professional’ blog. Now that is a challenge for me.

    Tony

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      Your reasons for blogging like some other bloggers who are more casual. My partner is a bit more “professional” about it –meaning it’s on cycling advocacy and in a tangential way –travels/bike touring. Not about his personal life. Best of luck and inspiration for blogging in a different direction or shall one say, diversifying your blogging style.

      Like

  16. Hi Jean, you sound a bit pained about your followers being so distant, and I can understand that. The unique drawback of using WordPress to blog is that it encourages only others who blog on WordPress to follow or even subscribe to our blogs; it’s a foreign system to those who aren’t bloggers, or who don’t have WordPress accounts (as I know first hand from those who enjoy my blog, but don’t want to hassle with creating an account to log in and comment). The fact is, there are many folks out there who use the internet all the time and are still leery of the systems surrounding bloggers on certain platforms, like WordPress, or Blogger or Tumblr or Google+ and commenting via Disquis or whatever flavor you like, and it is an enormous brain-drain-pain to stay up with it all. Not everyone sees the need nor the benefit.

    I rely upon the WordPress Reader to follow yours, and others of my favorite blogs, but it is so non-robust as to be Dark Ages. I often miss posts; there’s no way to search, sort and I.D. one’s favorite blogs; nor to bookmark them for later reading. I haven’t seen your posts in the Reader for ages. I just got to wondering what some of my favorite blogs were up to and checked yours out–and how timely that I did. Not a good situation for a purported Reader. Not your fault, of course, but WordPress ought to improve its Reader.

    When I realize I am missing out on a favorite blog I usually copy/paste its url into my Feedly reader, and then I never miss a post. The blog is neatly categorized and all of its posts remain there until I mark them as read. I can also bookmark them to save, and share them easily via the Buffer app. I live to share so that is ideal for me.

    That is where your blog url is headed now.

    And BTW, one other irksome thing WordPress doesn’t give us is any way to track, sort or even contact our “followers” and especially our “subscribers by mail.” That last group if our holy grail. To “follow” in the WordPress Reader is not really an effort on the reader’s part. To “subscribe” means the reader really cares for what we say. And for someone to “join my mailing list” –that’s like winning all the gold rings!! Not too many of my readers take me up on that. Though if I were to write this lament, that’s what I’d be hoping for.

    Keep up your good work, and sign me,
    Your faithful follower, no matter what it may seem to you, and your fan–Jann 😀

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      I think you should copy and paste parts of your comment here to wordpress.com support on weakness of the wordpress.com reader, jann. I simply bookmark the blogs I like to visit. Such a lazy blogger commenter. Honestly, I was hoping the numbers to drop to 250-300 subscribers. I like your blog that takes art as jumpstart discipline that can integrate with other types of thinking and disciplines. It’s great synergy to keep a mind alive, changing view of the world and learning constantly.

      Like

  17. jbw0123 says:

    Wow. This one got some comments. I particularly appreciate Jann@austindetails just above.

    Most of the people I know are leery of blogs, hesitant to provide their e-mail addresses to WordPress, and not sure how blogs are helpful. If they want information on the internet, they look it up and move on. It’s a nice surprise when a friend or acquaintance who isn’t a blogger, tells me they read my blog. I suspect that most people who read it are also bloggers, under-the-radar writers looking to write, write better, reach out to and support people like themselves, and build platforms for future published works. Maybe I think that because that’s what I do.

    I use a free template (although I pay $30 a year to prevent pop up ads) from WordPress, and pretty much get what I pay for: lack of flexibility, lack of search ability, limitation only to other WordPress users, etc.

    Many followers don’t do more than push the follow button, but that’s OK. A few are blatant creepy advertisers, and they get blocked.

    When my long-struggled with novel is finally finished and ready to be marketed, it will be time to invest in a real website. In the meantime, blogging is first and foremost learning for me, including learning about the limits of what you get for “free.”

    I hope that the person above who loses track of blogs they like was directed to the “manage” page on WordPress, which allows weekly and instant notices of postings on blogs they want to keep up with.

    Cheers!

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      Jbw, I didn’t know you were writing a novel. I guess the type of novel is a secret at this point.

      Most of the people I know are leery of blogs, hesitant to provide their e-mail addresses to WordPress, and not sure how blogs are helpful. If they want information on the internet, they look it up and move on

      I just got a response from a close friend who has had problems subscribing to my blog. I will literally have to stand over her and see what happens. She did tell me that she is leery of giving email address to other blogs that belong to people whom she doesn’t know.

      Like

  18. Well, I enjoyed this impassioned post coming from you, Jean. We’re usually ambling along behind you, our tour guide, on some lovely aesthetic jaunt. =) And you managed to half-scare some readers into swearing fresh allegiance as commenters LOL. Spambots and their kind are likely part of the blogging package. Dunno how to lose ’em. The obvious salesmen we can simply ignore, too.

    Ride (and write) on…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jean says:

      My blog sounds….so tame. Not enough hearth-breathing rants. 😀 Anyway, takes positive energy out of blogging for me. Maybe some more blogworms will come out of the woodwork and reveal more in daylight.

      I love that “ambling along behind you..”. Come along my way, for stroll just a few minutes. 🙂

      Like

  19. A Midsummer Night’s Badass– yes, I remember reading that one back in high school… I think… : )

    Hi, Jean. I don’t think most non-Likers and non-Commenters are up to no good. My own theory is that many people follow a blog in a momentary burst of enthusiasm, and then lose interest. I suspect a lot of people just get overextended by following too many blogs. No way to know for sure, it’s all speculation.

    I do wish all the badasses in the world were forced to wear a donkey mask. That would be so helpful: we could recognize them immediately, and give ’em a wide berth! : )

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      Your witty humour is most welcome Mark about the badasses. Yes, some followers have just dropped off to disinterested and forgetful folks. Then there have been some weird trends —ie. gravatars with women who each post with their full first, middle and last name. Doesn’t seem right to me. I can’t remember if donkeys are female or male.. 🙂

      May your spring be bright and warmer each week.

      Liked by 1 person

Chime in with your thoughts here!

