Christmas Song Parodies: Cycling and Blogging

Our Christmas "card" photo. Photo taken by Momentum Magazine for any cyclist riding by. Part of Vancouver Area Cycling Coalition's Fall Bike to Work Week 2009
Sample Christmas “card” photo. Photo taken by Momentum Magazine for any cyclist riding by. Part of Vancouver Area Cycling Coalition’s Fall Bike to Work Week 2009

I’m pretty certain we will get snowflakes drifting down in our part of Canada –again. Already we’ve had over four different snowfalls and temperatures plunging to -20 degrees C.  So far, the snow has melted off each time.

I did brave the frigid cold on bike several weekends ago, only because the pavement was dry, weekend car traffic was light and drivers were relaxed. I needed to get groceries.  Over half of the bike ride was on a bike-pedestrian path. Thank goodness.

In the festive spirit of Christmas and holiday good cheer, I bring you some trumped up parodies of old Christmas song favourites laced with favourite things and images associated with some of my obsessions:  cycling and blogging.

These Christmas song parodies were started off by yours truly (yes, it was me) through some Internet forums.

From Team Estrogen forums, an international Internet forum where women cyclists hang out to chat up about anything remotely related to cycling or not. Here we go for the singing ride!

12 Days of Cycling
(Based 12 Days of Christmas)

A town decked out in German regalia year round. Leavenworth, Washington state 2010. Photo by J. Chong
A town decked out in German regalia year round. Leavenworth, Washington state 2010. Photo by J. Chong

On the first day of cycling, my true love said to me:
12 shiny new bikes,
11 more big hills,
10 suitcases of courage,
9 espresso hammer gels,
8 epic elevations!
7 hardcore commuters,
6 dancing roadies,
5 mountain bikers!
4 drafting cyclists,
3 broken spokes,
2 tandem riders and
“I’m just about to pass out
Jingle Bells, Jingle Bells

Jingle Bells, Jingle Bells,

Nutcracker Museum. Leavenworth, Washington 2010. Closed at the time we were there in early January
Nutcracker Museum. Leavenworth, Washington 2010. Closed at the time we were there in early January

Jingle all the way,
Oh what fun, it is to ride
On a racing green Raleigh – hey!

Dashing through the snow,
On Nokian Extremes,
O’er the curb I go…

Shrieking all the way,
Lights on helmet sway,
Making bike lanes bright,
What fun it is to slide,
A cycling song tonight!

Santa Claus cycles with his goodies. Vancouver, BC 2009. Photo by J. Chong
Santa Claus cycles with his goodies. Vancouver, BC 2009. Photo by J. Chong

A day or two ago,
I thought I’d take a ride,
But much to my surprise,
I nearly took a slide.
The roads were slick and wet,
My hands were getting numb,
But n’ver would you hear me fret,
With mud covering my bum!

Oh, riding bikes, riding bikes
Riding all the way
Oh what fun it is to ride
On a racing green Raleigh – hey!

Blogging theme below, was hammered out amongst bloggers internationally in WordPress Internet forums.  For blogger geeks, this language is really ours to hold and to keep like cryptic cuneiform. Slightly modified from original thread, just preserve the geekiness.

12 Days of Blogging

Decked out in lights 2010. Photo by J.Chong
Decked out in lights 2010. Photo by J.Chong

On my first day of blogging, my true love gave to me:
Twelve trolls a trolling, 
Eleven links uh Linking,
Ten likes a-Liking,
Nine bloggers drinking,
Eight Widgets flashing,
Seven Word Press themes,
Six Brand New Threadssss,
FIVE FRESHLY PRESSED,
Four browsers crashing,
Three Frantic Tweeters,
Two tacky Tumblrs,
And a bloated blogospherrrrre!

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Mark says:

    12 Days of Cycling…. LOL!

    Like

  2. Andrew says:

    Nice!

    These sunny skies really make a person forget Christmas is a couple weeks away. 😀

    Like

  3. Love the song parodies, Jean! I’m a big fan of them, everything from Weird Al to Live on the Capitol Steps.

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      I haven’t quite figured Wierd Al. Obviously am missing something here! You probably know a few (not necessarily Christmas) good parodies.

      Like

  4. ava says:

    ” I’m pretty certain we will get snowflakes drifting down in our part of Canada –again.” I find this too funny and then came this,
    “I did brave the frigid cold on bike several weekends ago, ” I was worried for you, I know how slippery ice can be, glad the pavement was dry. 🙂

    Anyhow, I bet you had the greatest fun doing the parodies! 🙂

    Wishing you a Merry Christmas Ms. Jean!

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      We certainly did have fun, myself and a pile of other folks worldwide, for all the parodies. Today it’s been snowing lightly but steadily nearly the whole day. White, fluffy flakes and slowing down car traffic.

      Wishing you and your family ava, a Merry, special Christmas. I’m sure you’ll blog about it. 😀

      Like

  5. Ann says:

    WONDERFUL songs! I particularly liked the 12 days of Blogging! Jean, meeting you couldn’t have come at a better time. I’ve been thinking of – for lack of a better description – New Year’s Resolutions! I am cooking healthy at home and with the season upon us, it’s WAY too easy and fun to fall off the wagon! I was just discussing with my husband today that it’s time to add some exercise to my life. I’ve been giving this some thought and know that I need to MAKE time….so I’ve been giving this some deep thinking. SO nice to meet you and I’ve happily subscribed and look forward to seeing more about your cycling life!

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      Glad enjoyed these parodies though they are all a collective fun effort of several folks world-wide. I hope you find a form of physical activity that gets interwoven into daily lifestyle so that it doesn’t feel like “exercise”. That’s how cycling is like to me sometimes: I have to get to work or go shopping, so if it’s not snowing/icy/heavy rain, I bike it. It’s all interwoven into daily rhythms of life. Feel free to pm me for any questions in this area.

      Like

  6. Catherine says:

    Too funny 🙂 I love how into cycling you are!

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      Thanks for dropping. And Merry Christmas to you and your BF.

      Like

  7. Awesome! I recently got a new collar and it has a jingle bell on it, so everyone has been calling me “jingle dog” and swapping out Christmas Song lyrics with the word dog!

    Like

  8. Nami says:

    Oh, how I love parodies and you’ve got some doozies! Since I live with two boys and a man who’s mentally the same age as them, it’s kind of hard to share. Came by way of Grapes and Oranges- hope you don’t mind the visit!

    Like

    1. Jean says:

      You’re welcome to visit and comment any time Nami. Parodies are fun and especially when you cannot even guess what someone else half way around the world, will think for the next line.

      Like

Chime in with your thoughts here!

