Art

Chameleon Art: Art That Teases Imagination

This blog post will not be a violin whine of apologist on abstract art or non-representational art. No, I just want to show you how to see this art in new light – several different ways.

Sea Ameoba Flower. Mixed media painting. By J. Chong 2013

Sea Ameoba Flower. Mixed media painting. By J. Chong 2013

Before I took several art courses on mixed media painting art at mid-life, I didn’t have much appetite for abstract art. All too often, I was scornful and jaded.

But to execute anything well, you need some dim awareness of colour theory to magically layer colours to make a brand new hue.

Heart of Mountain. Mixed media painting. By J. Chong 2013

Heart of Mountain. Mixed media painting. By J. Chong 2013

A fingertip touch of line edges, media texture and an eye for fusing shapes and hues becomes your guide across the canvass, as it blooms with colour, darkness and light. Like the light of shifting sun with a drizzle-swirl of rain.

Often I am inspired by 2-3 pieces of block tissue prints to meld them into a new life. After the layer of acrylic paint washes and letting it dry, I work away for a few hours. It is

Exploded Mountain Rock. Mixed media painting. By J Chong 2013

Exploded Mountain Rock. Mixed media painting. By J Chong 2013

play of imagining colour and new transparencies of line shapes that suddenly pop out on the ever-changing canvass.

Now, this is all 1 painting but  4 different poses offered to you. No, I’m not offended if you turn the painting topsy-turvy to find meaning. Isn’t that what art is anyway? Finding meaning that resonates with the brain-soul-heart? It doesn’t matter what the artist thinks, it’s what the viewer latches on for a few minutes. If the painting is strikingly unusual, the person may even remember some shapes and colour patches awhile later.

Have I diminished the value of this painting by suggesting there are different display positions? Often to art innocents, this is the greatest criticism of abstract art.

Which painting view do you like the most? I have my favourite painting poses. But most of all, I hope you will find a different energy and dreamscape in each interpretation.

Brilliant Morning Breakaway. Mixed media painting. By J Chong 2013.

Brilliant Morning Breakaway. Mixed media painting. By J Chong 2013.

22 thoughts on “Chameleon Art: Art That Teases Imagination

  1. I had no idea you were an artist! I am, as well. At least, I like to think of myself that way–sort of, almost. I love your work. And my favorite is the first. It just feels like the right perspective to me–allows for more depth, allows the eye to go deeper–if that makes any sense! Beautiful!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • I think you’re more way more experienced and disciplined in the practice of your art, Katherine. I mean you do art more often and with keener purpose/vision. I still need coaching.

    • Thanks for dropping by, Rita. I think we each have a visceral response to certain combinations of colours and lines. Actually my favourite view is the first one.

    • Like you, I was delighted to see something different for every painting pose. I noticed your blog has yet to include travels to North America. Any plans one day? And where would it be? From a Canuck currently snugly warm inside while a frigid cold winter snow blizzard rages this evening. It’s over -20 degrees C with snow whipping at over 60 km./hr.

  2. I really enjoyed your post encouraging viewers to engage with abstraction. It is a wonderful exercise to post the three views: this subtle movement of turning the painting creates an entirely new entry point and way of seeing. My art is generally rooted in realism and embedded in a narrative, but when I paint landscape in watercolor, I believe the painting is most successful when it is easily reduced to form and color and the viewer can enjoy it without the narrative. This is a great blog Jean. Very glad we have connected.

    • Your comments are appreciated, Robin. You said it so well, that “no need for a narrative” = a successful painting. Of course, ‘success’ is in the eye of the beholder when it’s art. :) For abstract art, people just need some hints how to approach it.

      There’s no right answer when it’s interpreting a piece of art. It just has to have greatest meaning for the viewer. I envy anyone with watercolour painting skill.

  3. I’ve been a painter of abstract art on and off all my adult life. I love abstract art. Colours used well always capture me. I think your painting is beautiful, all four views. Since we’re now traveling, if I have any spare time at all I create abstract paintings with Photoshop. There’s some at the end of this post: http://alisonanddon.wordpress.com/2012/10/31/canberra-part-3/
    and this post: http://alisonanddon.wordpress.com/2012/10/10/canberra-australia-part-1/
    Your blog is wonderful. I loved also your posts about the ice sculptures and the ginger bread Christmas scenes.
    Thanks for stopping by our blog, and for the ‘likes’.
    Happy Holidays
    Alison

I welcome your thoughts on this blog post:

