Art

Waterfalls, Falling Sheets of Mist

Misty water, suspended water and waterfalls have teased my imagination. When I visit somewhere or dream, I like to capture it in photos, poetry and in art.

I may have not visited the exact spot. But tumbling waters that leap over the edge and

Waterfall Dreaming. By J Chong 2006. Mixed media -watercolour print blocks and issue

Waterfall Dreaming 2006. By J Chong. Mixed media -watercolour print blocks and tissue paper.

rocks, release a memory of other places where I’ve been –Takakawawa Falls in Yoho National Park, British Columbia; Niagara Falls (just ignore the people hordes) or tropical waterfalls slicing through rainforests in Hawai’i.

To capture water sliding over the precipice and misty ribbons crashing into foamy pools, means brush strokes whirling paint colours into both deep yet transparent layers. Not

Doubtful Sound, New Zealand. Oil painting by J. Chong 2005.

Doubtful Sound, New Zealand. Oil painting by J. Chong 2005.

too much but not too little. A flick of wrist to add colour here and there. Water itself is not always blue. Water absorbs the sheen of the sky, sunset or Nature’s dreamscape.

Being there. Doubtful Sound, NZ 2002. Photo by J Becker

We all, like to watch just a distance away, the miracle of Water’s falling energy: its beauty doesn’t end in stillness yet but may leave us with a misty kiss of its breath.

More Art Inspired by Nature
Chong, Jean. Climbing the Skies, the Roughness : Painting and Cycling

Postscript: At this time, Calgarians are coping with its major flood disaster clean-up and recovery efforts.  On Jun. 20-21, 2013, the waters of the  Bow and Elbow Rivers overflowed their banks and displaced over 100,000 local residents.  More about this later for what may have been lost, may need fixing or replaced.

15 thoughts on “Waterfalls, Falling Sheets of Mist

    • Thanks for visiting Diana. These are some of my better pieces. As you can tell by the dates of when I finished the featured pieces, I’m pretty lackadaisal about showing others (except for visitors to home), my dabblings.

      Strangely, for me to showcase my artwork by blogging is a great social media platform, to show close friends and family members what I’ve done in the past few years since they don’t live in the same province as I do. :) They would be the people I would want to reach first.

  1. Two very different styles, Jean, and I like them both. The abstract has tremendous energy. Looking at it, I can almost hear the roar of the water. I love its colors, too. Wonderful to see some of your work– thanks for sharing! : )

    • Most definitely 2 different styles with the oil painting as more time consuming. I haven’t done representational painting for a long time and would need to be sufficiently motivated to do oil painting vs. acrylics because of the solvent required for former. (Solvents and turpentine smells affect me alot. I would need alot of room natural air ventilation.)

      The abstract is one of my very first abstracts with that technique. :) You hit it on the nail head: yes, an attempt to capture water’s jaw-dropping energy.

  2. I love them both. That said, I’ve never been a fan of oil painting. Like you, I just can’t handle the turpentine or solvent fumes. I start coughing and get a migraine within minutes so oil paining is out of the question for me. I’m enjoying using acrylics and doing abstracts. The style and the medium is so far removed from the Sumi-e and Chinese brush painting I have done for years that every painting is an adventure. I’ve also been exploring some creating with color inks and my oil pastels are still waiting for me to give them a try.

    • I look forward to seeing more of your stuff –when you get around to it. I must admit I tend to stay away from oil pastels because of the messiness. I know there are fixatives to prevent smudging. There is a tiny pack of new oil pastels squirreled away in my art tools arsenal — unopened.

    • I hope to over time, Jiawei. Not sure if people will understand some of my art stuff later on.
      Meanwhile there’s lots of other stuff in our neck of the woods to share.

  3. Such amazing art! My breath is taken away. Thanks so much for sharing! It’s really inspiring. I have to motivate myself to start making art again. I haven’t since I started college…

    • That’s what happened to me, for a whole 5 years of university, visual art was buried. Hopefully you take the opportunity to take some evening courses to get you restarted again. Then you can showcase on your blog what you’ve done. :)

      • Glad to know I’m not the only one! I’ve never taken art classes before (parents), so I taught myself what I could over nine years. But I have just started a book that has got me drawing again. :) It’s teaching me some real basics, like shading. And yes — maybe I will showcase them once I get more advanced or start doing more original art! Thanks for the idea!

  4. Jean, I’m just catching up on my blogging friends and found this amazing post! I had no idea that you were such a gifted painter; I love not only the paintings but the poetic way you described the process of capturing moving water. Just wonderful, wonderful, wonderful.

    • Like you, I find inspiration in observing water in its forms, moods and movement as well as drawing out imagery from it. You also do a great of integrating sound of water into your music, Lynne

I welcome your thoughts on this blog post:

