Christmas / Cycling / Winter Vacation

Christmas Haiku Meditations

Winter nightfall. Peace Bridge, Calgary AB 2012. Photo by J. Chong

Winter nightfall. Peace Bridge, Calgary AB 2012. Photo by J. Chong

A lonely bike light-
Flickering snow firefly
Flits over fresh snow.

Live doves in their gilded cage 2012. Photo by J. Chong

Live doves in their gilded cage 2012. Photo by J. Chong

Turtledoves wander
Listless, mute in gilded cage:
Gold becomes their sun.

Frozen branch 2012. Calgary AB. Photo by J. Chong

Frozen branch 2012. Calgary AB. Photo by J. Chong

Icing sugar dusts
Green leaf medallions,
Fragile garlands droop.

Holiday riding. 2011 Photo by J. Chong

Holiday riding. 2011 Photo by J. Chong

Christmas chill frosts breath
Of life, a halo warms face,
Memories blurr vision.

Festive mini cake.

Festive mini cake.

Snowman cake warms me.
Tummy smiles, sated dreams
Melted with coffee.

After snowfall. Bow River, Calgary AB 2012. Photo by J. Chong

After snowfall. Bow River, Calgary AB 2012. Photo by J. Chong

Turquoise glacial
Waters surge life and break–
Ice still sprays its chill.

Christmas carol buskers. 2012. Photo by J. Chong

Christmas carol buskers. 2011. Photo by J. Chong

Draw festive tunes through
Air-dancing violin bow,
And dip into trance.

Twilight winter joggers and cyclists. River Walk bike-pedestrian path. Eau Claire area, Calgary AB 2012. Photo by J. Chong

Twilight winter joggers and cyclists. River Walk path. Eau Claire area, Calgary AB 2012. Photo by J. Chong

Walk the night with me
Marvel snow muffled magic,
Be there for morning.

–All haiku by Jean Chong ©2012

24 thoughts on “Christmas Haiku Meditations

    • Yes, sure some regular cyclists during the winter in our area. I noticed that people here in our city use studded bike tires more than where I’ve previously lived –Vancouver, Toronto. My partner started cycling on studded tires for the first time after cycling regularily for the past 25 yrs. I tend to only cycle on dry pavement in the winter. Last winter I was able to cycle around 40% of all winter days. Believe me, cycling at -25 degrees C is an experience after only half an hr. or so. It’s enough of a “work-out” for me! Just staying warm, I feel I’ve lost 10-20 calories every half hr. outdoors. My biggest problem are my hands –even having 2-3 sets of gloves on.

  1. I was just reading the reply about the studded wheels and keeping your hands warm – I noticed that a couple of the kids weren’t wearing gloves oh brrrr! I think my favourite shot is the last one, the light and the movement get me !

    • I actually I didn’t notice the mittenless children until you pointed out to me. Young children do burn alot more energy but doesn’t mean they’re not suspectible to colds! Merry Christmas Claire.

  2. Hi Jean,
    I loved the haiku and the images too. The first image was a real attention grabber. It surprises me to see bicyclists in the snow on the coast but it doesn’t surprise me to see them riding in the rain.

    Have you noticed the strange breaks in the text in words in the comments section of this blog? You need to post to the support forum about this weirdness. See this thread http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/words-breaking-into-letters-at-each-line-break-in-comments/page/2?replies=52

    • Thanks for pointing this out…because I didn’t log into my blog until I got home much later after work. I enjoyed scribbling out the haiku and collecting the images. Dearie and I maintain a stash of photos that we squirrel away like Christmas presents. To be revealed at the the right time! Warm wishes for a special holiday and peace during that time. (I know you’re lives are waaay busier than a few years ago.)

  3. Hi Jean,

    I like the snow flakes. I reached for my glaces at first because I thought I was seeing spots!

    It’s already the 8TH and I haven’t begin to get into the holiday spirit yet. Posts like this one help nudge me along. Our winters tend to be fairly severe here on the mountain, but yours are probably much worse. So far, we’ve seen no real snow, but it’s coming.

    My favorite was the snowman cake, “melted with coffee”.

    • Hope you have a good Christmas with your family. Snow for the holidays would add a nice festive touch …at least it does for us. Our winter days average around -15 to -20 degrees C. But last few years we’ve experienced -30 to -35 degrees C days. It’s cold enough that frostbitten faces is a real concern. For certain having an ice cream cone is not the right time! My best wishes for lightness and peace.

  4. Beautiful photos Jean! Years ago I did quite a bit of cycling as well – in all seasons! Calgary has so many wonderful pathways. :) It’s nice to meet a fellow Calgarian blogger. Thanks for stopping by to see me.

  5. Lovely, Jean. You really have a gift for haiku, and for photography as well. I liked everything, but my favorite haiku was the last one, and I loved that shot of the Bow River after a snowfall– loved the way you framed it, with the dark and light contrasts in the foreground. And your tribute to that snowman cake made me laugh.

    Wishing you safe pedals, warm hands, and a very Merry Christmas! : )

    • Like many people, I always enjoy any walk while it’s snowing or just after a white fluffy snowfall. Wishing you magic and peace with your loved ones during Christmas.

    • Warmest wishes for a wonderful Christmas for you and your family. I doubt you are in the midst of snow right now. We are just relaxing from snowshoeing today and last few days.

    • Thanks for dropping by Marijane during this busy time. Yes, am looking forward to whatever I discover by bike. May you and your family be in good health and may your hopes in 2013 be fulfilled.

I welcome your thoughts on this blog post:

